Saturday Spotlights?

I swwweeeaaaarrr I am working on a post about the amazing Sarah of Sarah Scribbles… However I really wanted to finish a couple of other posts and get myself set up for the next month of blogging. So instead, I am going to do spotlights on art things going on that are really cool and awesome. Or at least, in terms of things that people may like to pick up are purchase.

The Sentinel by missmonster

With the exception of Halloween and perhaps a couple of cons, having clothing for cosplay or masks just sounds like a lot of work. I know a few cosplayers and I am sure they have entire closets dedicated to outfits. It is just a fact of life as a cosplayer. As disinterested in having to maintain room for it as I am, I did find a mask I was drawn to. Like seriously, I want one with such intensity it borders on madness.

Personally I would love one of her previous masks, but I never quite had the funds in order to get one and I’m terrible at some elements of color. Therefore the idea of the cheaper blank masks isn’t particularly appealing to me. Too much work for me to potentially mess it up. Though I might try my hand at it at some point. However, she makes some beautiful and incredible paints on the masks that she makes. Like honestly, these look like steel, copper, or just well rust on some. The paint jobs alone make it worth the cost.

Blanks are currently running $95.00, and are just the unpainted, unfinished versions. It gives you full customization of the masks. She also tends to put out, in select quantities, the fully painted masks that are just astounding. Those start around $245.00. They can all be found here. ========>

Emiliano Ercoli for Agnes Cecile

I love Agnes Cecile’s work. At some point, I know I will purchase one of her original pieces and probably a half dozen or so of her prints. Her work was just… influential to my art. With out her style choices for color, I more than likely would have never gotten into watercolours. Hell, I might have given up on art all together….

Yet, I really love her work and she just announced a massive sale and release of products on her site. She teamed up with a fellow artist (musician) and they combined art directly onto sheets of music. It is a really beautiful combination that feels as ethereal as her art. There is just something ambivalent about it. Like bodies passing on water… I dunno. Maybe I am reading too much into it, but that is what I love about her style. It rides the line between abstraction and definition.

On the site, there are… quite a few options available. I won’t be listing all of them here however here is the simple version. There is a basic music box set with  limited edition print. It is 1 of 153, which is a fairly small run. It will cover most of her most popular art pieces as well include a CD with music and a DVD. These start at  50.00 (or $57.00) and there is a good amount of choice. There will also be several available with original watercolours, these naturally are more expensive at  250.00 (or $285.00.) Please feel free to pick some up here!======>

Adulthood is a Myth by Sarah Scribbles!!!

Sarah just got back from a tour in Italy. Her first print on the books was sold out not too long ago, and apparently she got back to a flood of people demanding the book. Luckily, she posted about it being available in what seems to be a wide variety of different formats for digital. This is really exciting. Honestly, this is a great book to have sitting on a desk for anyone who is a college student because it is all so painfully relevant. Even the stuff in there that are in jokes about the bullshit nature puts women through on a monthly basis. Hell this is so good, I am just going to post what she has on her site about the book.

“Do you love networking to advance your career? Is adulthood an exciting new challenge for which you feel fully prepared? Ugh. Please go away.

These casually drawn, perfectly on-point comics by the hugely popular young Brooklyn-based artist Sarah Andersen are for the rest of us. They document the wasting of entire beautiful weekends on the internet, the unbearable agony of holding hands on the street with a gorgeous guy, and dreaming all day of getting home and back into pajamas. In other words, the horrors and awkwardnesses of young modern life. Oh and they are totally not autobiographical. At all.
Adulthood Is a Myth presents many fan favorites plus dozens of all-new comics exclusive to this book. Like the work of fellow Millennial authors Allie Brosh, Grace Helbig, and Gemma Correll, Sarah’s frankness on personal issues like body image, self-consciousness, introversion, relationships, and the frequency of bra-washing makes her comics highly relatable and deeply hilarious.”
This book gets like 7 bunnies out of 5 from me and is a must have. They are available over at her site here for $14.00.========>
Anyways, take it easy!
eddie martin

 

Leave a Reply

