Mile 200112.2: A new art piece

A couple of days ago, I finished a new art piece.

I am still in a bit of a drought as far as art goes. I really need to get ahold of additional reference photos for new pieces. I have a plan to use one that somebody took of themselves cosplaying Hilda from Pokemon Black/White, and I have been considering using images from within the cosplay community. That is an area I love being able to photograph people from because quite a few of those people are naturally quite attractive especially because they are passionate and brimming with excitement in their various costumes.

I also plan on finding some local artists and seeing if I can convince them to model. I wouldn’t mind drawing from the pool of cyclists downtown however I have yet to come across any that I either felt like drawing would be fun or I didn’t happen to have my camera on me at the time. Also, to the moron who was riding downtown on the wrong side of the road with your pants down around your knees, you are a fool! You must have a deathwish to be riding against traffic with so much near your chain. Come on now….

Anyways, this piece is from a local magazine called 1870. I came across it while my family and I were grabbing dinner. The woman on the cover had awesome tattoos and that standard “don’t touch my sandwich” look that most models seem to feel suites them best. However it looked fun to draw and use for warming up with, even the shoes. I don’t know why she had them around her neck though. That wasn’t explained at all in the magazine. However, the shoe I drew turned out well despite me never really drawing shoes.

The piece though took about 12 hours to finished over the course of about a week. It was created using Tombow Pencils, 2h through 6b. All of the shading was done by hand or with a tortillion. It was created using 2 separate sheets of Arches Watercolour paper (90lb cold press) on a standard paper backing. The end size is 18 x 12 inches. It also has a 1 inch border around the entire piece.

If you are interested in purchasing it, feel free to contact me and we can discuss that or if you would like a print instead just let me know. Thank you very much, and I hope you enjoy this piece.

eddie martin

_DSC1887.jpg

edited print version

_DSC1886

Original detailed version with paper line

And here is my Work in Progress gallery:

One comment

  1. maya · March 24, 2016

    Your artwork’s beautiful! If you’re interested in getting it published, visit http://www.artsyteenblog.wordpress.com đŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

